ARC Review: The Necromancer’s Dragon

The first of the Northern Necromancers: The Dragons series. I fell in love with the characters and now I have to wait for the next one. Nothing hurts more than waiting.

  • Title: The Necromancer’s Dragon
  • Series: Northern Necromancers: The Dragons #1
  • Author: Amy B. Nixon
  • Author links:

My thoughts

For the month of January, this was another book that I picked up from Booksprout. This is another one-to-one relationship book and just like Saving Ellie by Whitney R.B., this book brought me joy to read. I am an absolute sucker for necromancer stories and dragon shifters in general. So when I saw that this book combined both of them with a Norse twist then it was inventible to pick it up.

The Necromancer’s Dragon is about Aurora Nordstrøm, a member of the infamous Nordstrøm family, a family of necromancers that majority of the paranormal society in all nine realms dislikes with a passion. She is an Ice Queen and her uncle is trying to set her up with a boyfriend and hopefully a husband. All Aurora wanted was to spend her birthday and holidays with her family with as little drama as possible. However, with her uncle playing Cupid, Aurora doesn’t get what she wanted. After a drunken one night stand, she learns that she is mate bonded with a dragon shifter she originally had plans to avoid.

I will admit that when I opened the book on my Kindle it told me that some chapters would take me almost 30 minutes to read. That brought me joy. It was the opposite of Saving Ellie; it had less chapters but the chapters were thicker and took more time to read. However, that didn’t change the pace of the story. If anything it made more sense.

In universe, the whole book takes place just a little over a week, if not two weeks. So it makes sense that the chapters are longer when the timeline is less than a full month. That just gives the book more reason to give more details or to have more information in them because there is less time. I personally like it when books do this because the pacing makes more sense and doesn’t feel very forced.

The next part of book that I wanted to talk about was the main couple; Aurora and her dragon shifter, Carl Drahmann. Due to Aurora being an Ice Queen, she is know for her less than warm personality. She basically does everything she can to run off Carl and I do mean almost everything. There were lines that she wouldn’t cross but she still did everything she could to get rid of him. Whereas, Carl had a more understanding nature. After learning that she was his soulmate, he did everything he could to walk away and when he couldn’t he saw that there was more to her than meets the eye as is with most people. That’s the basics of their dynamic.

One thing that I did love about this book was that it was told solely from Aurora’s point of view. There was no switching points of view and as much as I wanted to know what was going through Carl’s head, I’m glad that I didn’t. As much as I love knowing what the characters are thinking, I think for this book, if I knew what the other characters were thinking then it would cheating because then we could justify why certain characters act certain ways when we are supposed to hate them. (It might count as character manipulation but in this case, I’ll forgive it.)

I personally think that this might be the first book (for the year of 2021) where the female lead in a book has actively tried to get rid of the male and almost succeed. Just like any relationship, there are ups and downs and the couple is bound to get into fights. Those two fought more than anything else, even when they were trying to deny the pull between them. The book also touches upon the idea of having “baggage” before going into a relationship.

There are times in life where you’ve had life changing experiences and it changes you. Sometimes it leaves you scared for life, mistrusting of other or even fearful of the future. All of the things I previously mentioned were things that Aurora had to deal with while Carl was going after her. We get to see what the effects of those events had on her and how much she has learned to cope with recovering from those events.

Overall, I liked this book. There were times that I was rooting for Aurora to win her argument and other times, I was wishing that she would just give in already. Just like in real life, nothing is easy and nothing came easy to Aurora in this book. She’s really had to try and it was nice to see a character struggle with something. (I know, I know. I am a mean person because I like seeing some characters suffer. It builds character!) I really want to know what happens in the next book but I am going to be waiting a while because according the the goodreads page, the next book doesn’t come out until May of this year. (I really hope that after I finish school, I will have some sense of sanity left. Yes, I am still in school and will hopefully be graduating at the end of this semester. Wish me luck guys.) As always, if you guys have any recommendations for books or authors, send them my way because I am always looking for the next book to read!

Until the next book, Mysty!~

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started